Aristocrat Photo Gloss and the Burl Clock

While I was at the Brisbane Wood Show, I had a chance to chat with the guys from Photogloss(.com.au), and had a closer look at their Aristocrat Liquid Glass.  They have a whole display wall at the shows, displaying all the different ways their products can be used, and some were quite inventive.

Aristocrat Liquid Glass

Aristocrat Liquid Glass

It comes in 2 parts, which are mixed 1:1 (conveniently).  (The bottles shown above are after I took enough out for the photos that follow)

I’ve been looking for a project to try it on, and the new burl clock for the shed seemed a good opportunity to put this stuff through its paces.

I didn’t take any in-progress photos – I was too focussed on using the product for the first time (which is always nervewracking when it has such an impact on the final product).

You can see from the previous post what the raw timber looked like, and it still was like that, just a bit nicer, and a lot flatter when I had finished sanding!

Clock Face

Clock Face

I mixed up an amount that seemed like it would be sufficient (and got it pretty close – fluke!), poured it on, and expected it to flow everywhere.  It didn’t, and there were just some ribbons of thick sticky, araldite-like resin all over the project.  Hmm – that’s not good!  However, it worked out well – I took a straight edge (actually a bit of MDF), and carefully spread the stuff over the entire surface.  It had a lot of tiny bubbles everywhere, but the instructions said that one option was simply to breath on the surface.  I tried that and where I did, the bubbles vanished before my eyes – it was quite impressive!  A couple of bigger ones got popped, and they quickly disappeared as the viscous liquid slowly levelled itself.

It takes ages to dry, and 24 hours later I haven’t checked it, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it isn’t still a little tacky.  Looks great though! I probably put it on a bit thick – you are meant to do multiple coats until you get the desired depth, but that comes down to experience (and I never get around to doing test pieces – always jumping right into the middle of a real project!)

It isn’t something you would use on every project (and keep it well away from fine furniture), but for items such as this, it is perfect.

Liquid Glass Closeup

Liquid Glass Closeup

Next step on this project will pretty much be the last – attaching the mechanism, sticking on the numbers, hanging it on the wall – I’ll post a final image when it is done. Looking at my burl clock in my office, and now I’m wondering whether to take it home, and refinish it as well – after a few years it is looking decidedly dull, and it is no longer showing off the beauty of the timber. (It was finished with oil and wax).

In the meantime, if you want to try out Aristocrat Liquid Glass for yourself, contact www.photogloss.com.au (07) 5486 5361

One Response

  1. I always stick the numbers on first, before applying a finish, such as Estapol, or, as in your case, Photogloss. This way, those pesky little critters will never come unstuck, as they can tend to do.

Leave a comment