1 Hour to Midnight

Time seem to have slipped a lot (no longer a few minutes to midnight)

2/3 American Barn (ie leaving off one side), with the gable on the back. Roller door and either skylights or polycarb in the parape (or both). $9470 I spent some time today wandering around some of their demo sheds on site, looking at how much light the skylights let in, seeing how the structure is constructed, looking at the mezzanine, and generally imagining how it would look, full of my workshop tools. Needless to say, I am well sick of waiting. I tried emptying some of the garage out over the weekend, and after an hour it was looking promising. I could get to the tablesaw, and the router table…amazing after so long. But when I turned around and saw the equivalent of “my life on the lawn” and nowhere to then put it, I quietly packed it all back in again and shut the garage door.

3 standard doors and 1 security door $580 The standard doors can be secured from the inside, so they don’t pose a particular security risk. For any shed, security is an issue, and this workshop will have other systems incorporated in case some w@nker decides to make an unannounced entry. Of course it isn’t like I am going to advertise the security methods any further on a public website! All I’m going to say is cutting power isn’t going to cut it.

Windows – 1x 900×1200, 2x apex $480 My sheds in the past have been windowless, so the idea is to make it less of a formidible steel box, and more as another (external) room or location. The apex window(s) are very much aesthetic, so one is compulsory, and the other may or may not survive the value management.

Loft/mezzanine $1720 If it wasn’t for the mezzanine, then the shed would not need to be so high, but with the mezzanine I gain an extra 22m2 of storage. That is not something to be sneezed at. Storage, including tools that don’t get used regularly was what really made the previous shed become difficult. I only have a vague vision how I would use the space, but I have absolutely no doubt that use it I will!

Insulation (roof only) aircell $600 I’m now very undecided about insulation – on one hand I do not want rain in the shed, and I really want a more temperate shed environment. On the other hand, will I realise much benefit with such a high roof, and will the thermal insulation be completely compromised if I do include skylights? Those who have it, with or without skylights, I would be very interested in your experiences. Also, those with a high roofline, and whether there is still a benefit to insulation. At $300 per 25m2, it adds up very quickly, especially if walls are included.

Additional council permit $330 This is needed due to the proximity of the shed to the boundary (and that it meets at 2 points, rather than running parallel to the boundary)

Delivery $130 Can’t do much about that – it is well over a tonne!

Total cost of structure $13310 That would be awesome if it was the only cost, but what always kills me is the extra cost – that of the slab. And there is also the small matter of power.

The shed supplier quoted $3200 for the concrete slab, $1400 for the foundation holes, and unknown amount to clear away the existing slab (a 3x3m one under the current shed). Sounds like a lot. There is always the screw pilings option ($2800), but that still then needs money spent on flooring materials too.

Once again I am completely bemused by the state of industry – even when you put money on the table, it is hard to find anyone (legitimate) wanting to take it. Today I rang about 1/2 a dozen or more firms I found via Google and the Yellow Pages. Phones disconnected, phones not answered. The number I hear “we cannot take you call right now….”

Does anyone know a good concreter who does a good job and doesn’t cost the earth (yes, it is asking a lot)? Oh, and has to service SE Melbourne obviously.

Really, while on the whole point, does anyone have input into the whole process, designs and decisions? I have listened to all those raised so far – I take all inputs and opinions seriously.